The Allergies – Promised Land

0 Posted by - 6th October 2021 - Features & Reviews, Top Picks by 3DJ

The Allergies have been regularly making it into my record box over the last couple of years, their energy, attitude and flows continue to impress and we really have arrived at the Promised Land – funk, soul & bars of the highest order, get this in your ears!

[3DJ] Rating 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥


The Allergies are back with a new album – rejoice! Feel-good funk, hip-hop swagger and dusty vintage loops are everything you need right now. Across 13 tracks, producers Rackabeat and DJ Moneyshot dig deep into their souls, as well as their record collections, serving up a day-glo blast of super positive sampledelia that’ll have you smiling from ear to ear. Built from scratch during lockdown, each song offers up a world to lose yourself in, free from any dark clouds. This is their ‘Promised Land’, and everyone is welcome to bask in the sunshine.

Along for the ride are LA rap legend Andy Cooper of Ugly Duckling, soul sensation Marietta Smith, dance music heavyweight Dynamite MC, and the unmistakable voice of hip-hop royalty Lyrics Born. Everyone got the memo, as career-best performances roll one after the other, and each singer, rapper, scratcher and sampler unites through the power of good music.

Highlights on the LP include the swamp blues meets half-time hip-hop monster ‘Lean On You’; the Latin funk bomb ‘Move On Baby’; soul rollers ‘New Thing’ and ‘Are You Ready’; and the stirring Moby-ish showstopper ‘Promised Land’.

Almost a concept album, the idea of fresh starts, strange new worlds, loss, solidarity, freedom, and the communities we find in clubs, festivals, and making and sharing music, emerged organically through the songwriting process. “In a weird way the album wrote itself”, says DJ Moneyshot. “We’d be lost in our own little world of hypnotic loops as days passed, and samples would jump off the shelves and just start to make sense as they got chopped and layered into these tracks”.

Early support for the singles, and response from fans across the globe, suggests that this, their fifth album, really could be something special. Come on in…

“The Allergies are truly funk and soul for the 21st century!” – Craig Charles, BBC 6 Music


1. Lean on You featuring Dynamite MC

2. Love Somebody

3. Promised Land

4. New Thing

5. Utility Man featuring Andy Cooper

6. Move On Baby

7. Going to the Party featuring Lyrics Born

8. Are You Ready featuring Andy Cooper & Marietta Smith

9. Working On Me

10. Jumping Off

11. The Beat

12. Up Down Left Right featuring Andy Cooper & Marietta Smith

13. You


No comments

Leave a reply