Funkdub x Outlook 2022

0 Posted by - 1st December 2022 - Listen / Watch, Our Mixes

Brand new mix inspired by Outlook festival and Sound System culture.

Brand new mix just uploaded, it’s been in the works since summer, but life and other commitments mean these things take time, hopefully it’s worth the wait! As you might be able to tell the session is based on the Outlook festival that came to the UK for the first time this year. We’d been looking enviously at the events out in Croatia for ages, so when they pitched up just down the road the Funkdub crew had to make the trip.

The line up they put together was absolutely outstanding, on top of that it was, by some distance, the best sounding festival we’ve ever been too – the rigs were all spectacular: Sinai, Jah Shaka, Channel One, Mungo’s Hi Fi, Iration Steppers, Dub Smugglers, Raze, to name just a few. The artists on the bill were a who’s who of UK bass culture – obviously there were international elements as well – but it really did show how many ground breaking artists have come from this small island.

As it turns out the mix turned into a bit of a tour of the UK bass scene, many of our sessions have a European flavour, but on this one there is only the excellent Von D flying the flag for France. Most of of the styles represented at the festival are included in the 21 tracks: Dub, Dubstep, Reggae, Drum n Bass, Jungle, Electronica; legends like Goldie and LTJ Bukem, as well new talent like Anz, Sully and Ill Truth, and Sound System culture from Channel One & Jah Shaka. We also included the sadly departed and still much missed Marcus Intalex and Spirit – the mighty DJ Storm played sets in tribute to both at the festival. Hope you enjoy the set – full tracklist below:

1. The Struggle (Dubkasm version) – Om Unit
2. Rastaman Dub – Channel One Sound Sytem
3. Loos In Twos (NRG) – Anz
4. Request The Style (Special Request Remix) – Top Cat
5. Mood Dub – Coki
6. Burn Baphomet – Von D
7. We Pulsating – Mungo’s Hi Fi ft Solo Banton
8. Once In A Lifetime – Ponchita Peligros & Dub Smugglers
9. Equivalence – Coco Bryce
10. Years – Calibre
11. Love Less Chaos – Nookie & Ruth Royall
12. Atlantis (Marky & S.P.Y. Rework) – LTJ Bukem
13. The Syndicate – Ill Truth
14. Walk Out – Fox, DLR & Alix Perez
15. 11th – Addison Groove & Sam Binga
16. 5ives – Sully
17. Shadow VIP – Goldie & Rob Playford
18. Crackdown – Markus Intalex & Spirit
19. Song and Dance – DLR, Break & Randall
20. Athos – Congo Natty
21. Rockers Delight – Jah Shaka

No comments

Leave a reply