0 Posted by - 12th October 2018 - Features & Reviews, Top Picks by 3DJ

‘Shapes: Mountains’ is the latest in Tru Thoughts’ series of essential label compilations put together by A&R, label co-founder and renowned DJ Robert Luis. After 19 years of independently releasing music, the ‘Shapes’ LPs continue to encompass the best of the Brighton-based label’s wide-ranging and international roster. Featuring the finest of Tru Thoughts’ classic cuts, recent releases and inspired remixes, ‘Shapes: Mountains’ is out on digital and limited edition transparent green double vinyl (with full 32 track download card) on 12th October.

“I always enjoy compiling ‘Shapes’ as it gives me an opportunity to revisit everything Tru Thoughts has put out over the past year,” Luis explains. “It’s great to be working with artists who are creatively passionate about the music they make. ‘Shapes: Mountains’ showcases an eclectic mix of artists who choose to release music without compromise. This is something we have always been about at Tru Thoughts.”

Hot 8 Brass Band’s party-starter “Can’t Nobody Get Down” is refreshed with brass and 808 bass by Alphabets Heaven and Prince Fatty and Nostalgia 77 illuminate the shared roots and spirit of rebellion at the heart of dub and jazz in “Little Steps Dub”. Prolific producer, DJ and multi-instrumentalist Will ‘Quantic’ Holland teams up with long term friend and collaborator Nidia Góngora on “Amor En Francia”, reworked into a breathtaking dancefloor track with soulful 150bpm magic by Philadelphia-based producer Sideswipe, as the Quantic y Los Míticos del Ritmo acordeon band cover Drake’s “Hotline Bling”.

These iconic tracks are joined by releases from J-Felix, Space Captain and Magic Drum Orchestra, alongside “Vortex Number 9”, the first single from new signings Uniting Of Opposites, who bring to life a melting pot of cultures and musical inspirations on their debut album ‘Ancient Lights’, and Te’Amir, who highlights five new tracks of beat driven, rootsy and soulful explorations on his “Abyssinia EP”. Further showcasing the wide-ranging Tru Thoughts roster, infamous Roll Deep MC Flowdan teams up with dancehall MC Irah on new track “Bodybag”, Foreign Beggars’ Nonames teams up with Hybrid Minds vocalist Alexa Harley on “Passing Time” and London-based neo-soul duo Aurora Dee Raynes bring the blissed-out old school funk with “Find My Way”.

Stepping into the mix, electronic producers Ivy Lab and Chug each put forward their take of tracks from Rhi’s debut album ‘Reverie’, while Eric Lau and Kadi Tatham blend the laidback ‘80s electronica of Moonchild’s “Run Away” with their unique character and rhythm to draw out a carefree groove that scintillates with plucky guitar licks. Further re-orchestrations include Max Cooper’s take on Hidden Orchestra’s “Wingbeats” and Ed West adds a touch of soundsystem, dancehall and jungle on his remix of the unfadable “Still D.R.E.”, taking a track from Sly5thAve’s acclaimed ‘The Invisible Man: An Orchestral Tribute To Dr. Dre’.

‘Shapes: Mountains’ also includes reworkings from within the Tru Thoughts family; Rhi delicately brings The Seshen’s “All I Know” into a dusk-filled and haunting space and Uniting Of Opposites founder and legendary dance producer Tim Deluxe explores movement and progression in his remix of “Car Number 27/Mr. Alpo”.

Vinyl Tracklist

A1 The Seshen – Distant Heart (Wrongtom Remix)

A2 Rhi – Night Driving (Ivy Lab Remix)

A3 Hot 8 Brass Band – Can’t Nobody Get Down (Alphabets Heaven Remix)

A4 Moonchild – Run Away (Eric Lau & Kaidi Tatham Remix)

B1 Nonames – Passing Time feat. Alexa Harley

B2 J-Felix – J-Freq

B3 Sly5thAve – Still D.R.E. (Ed West Remix)

C1 Uniting Of Opposites – Car Number 27/Mr. Alpo (Tim Deluxe Remix)

C2 Aurora Dee Raynes – Find My Way

C3 KXNGS – Air Sign

D1 Magic Drum Orchestra – Original Nuttah feat. Bunty

D2 Durrty Goodz – Foundation feat. Flowdan & Sharky Major

D3 Flowdan – Bodybag feat. Irah

Digital Album Tracklist

  1. Moonchild – The List
  2. The Seshen – Distant Heart (Wrongtom Remix)
  3. Uniting Of Opposites – Vortex Number 9
  4. Rhi – Night Driving (Ivy Lab Remix)
  5. Werkha – Glass Games feat. Bryony Jarman-Pinto
  6. Space Captain – Blue
  7. Te’Amir – Habesha
  8. Sly5thAve – California Love feat. Cory Henry (Edit)
  9. Quantic & Nidia Gongora – Ojos Vicheros
  10. Hot 8 Brass Band – Can’t Nobody Get Down (Alphabets Heaven Remix)
  11. Moonchild – Run Away (Eric Lau & Kaidi Tatham Remix)
  12. Belleruche – It’ll Come
  13. Quantic y Los Míticos del Ritmo – Hotline Bling
  14. Wrongtom Meets The Ragga Twins – A GCSE In Dub
  15. Prince Fatty Meets Nostalgia 77 – Little Steps Dub
  16. The Seshen – All I Know (Rhi Mix)
  17. Manu Delago – Freezing Point (Poppy Ackroyd Reimagining)
  18. Hidden Orchestra – Wingbeats (Max Cooper Remix)
  19. Nonames – Passing Time feat. Alexa Harley
  20. J-Felix – J-Freq
  21. Uniting Of Opposites – Car Number 27/Mr. Alpo (Tim Deluxe Remix)
  22. Anchorsong – Testimony
  23. Aurora Dee Raynes – Find My Way (Clean Version)
  24. KXNGS – Air Sign
  25. Jonny Faith – Backbeat
  26. Quantic & Nidia Gongora – Amor en Francia (Sideswipe Remix)
  27. Rhi – Cherry Glow (Chug Remix)
  28. Magic Drum Orchestra – Original Nuttah feat. Bunty
  29. Durrty Goodz – Foundation feat. Flowdan & Sharky Major
  30. Flowdan – Bodybag feat. Irah
  31. Sleepin’ Giantz – Raving Bully 
  32. Sly5thAve – Still D.R.E. (Ed West Remix)

Over the years, Tru Thoughts’ diverse roster has included names such as Quantic, Alice Russell, Nostalgia 77, The Bamboos, Rodney P, Hidden Orchestra, Riz MC, Zed Bias, Anchorsong, Moonchild and the Grammy-nominated Hot 8 Brass Band; with acts hailing from Australia, UK, USA, Canada, Brazil, Japan and Colombia. Tru Thoughts continues to run from Brighton with a sister office in L.A. together with its publishing company Full Thought Publishing, which has seen its music used in major advertising campaigns, movies and TV shows.

“The brilliant Tru Thoughts label, one of our favourites” – LAUREN LAVERNE (BBC 6MUSIC)

“As a DJ you can’t ignore it when a package comes from Tru Thoughts… brilliant stuff” – GILLES PETERSON (BBC 6MUSIC)

“I need to officially declare I’m not on the Tru Thoughts payroll. It’s just that they keep coming up

with the goods!” DON LETTS (BBC 6MUSIC)

“Tru Thoughts continues to be a global force” – THE ARTS COUNCIL

“Tru Thoughts is one of the labels that I’ve found myself listening to more and more” – HUEY MORGAN (BBC 6MUSIC)

“The legendary Tru Thoughts label” MISTAJAM (BBC RADIO 1)

“Eclectic and vibrant… the excellent Tru Thoughts” – HUW STEPHENS (BBC RADIO 1)

“The home of top quality music… every single release seems to be extraordinary” – JOHN KENNEDY (RADIO X)

“Moving with the times and listeners’ tastes, Tru Thoughts always have their finger on the pulse” – DUMMY MAG

“Tru Thoughts, an incredible label” – JULIE ADENUGA (BEATS 1)

“Tru Thoughts has done it again… a reputation for searching far and wide for electronic upstarts with a story to tell.” – THUMP

No comments

Leave a reply