Nostalgia 77 – ‘Fifteen’ (Best Of)

0 Posted by - 16th February 2018 - Features & Reviews

Exciting release news today from Nostalgia 77, one of the most consistent and varied artists on the ever-fresh Tru Thoughts label. Producer and musical maverick Ben Lamdin is releasing a best of compilation encompassing 15 years on the cutting edge. Rooted in jazz his productions take in hip hop, blues, funk, downtempo, soul and psychedelia. It’s a heady and intoxicating brew including vocal tracks like the pristine “Beautiful Lie” and deep pure jazz cuts from the Nostalgia 77 Octet. The compilation takes in the breadth of production including head nodders like “Positive Force” and “Freedom” as well as a host of guest vocalists.  The collection also features some of his various collaborations, including with Prince Fatty on the outstanding “Medicine Chest Dub”  and perhaps his most famous track, teaming up with the mighty Alice Russell for their barnstorming version of “Seven Nation Army” .  As well as a full career retrospective there are remixes in the blend as well, including the excellent Bonobo and the deep electronica of  the Ambassadeurs remix of “Sleepwalker”.

Check out the entrancing video for album closer “Hush” below:

“Fifteen” is released on 16.02.18 via Tru Thoughts and is available on double vinyl and download:




No comments

Leave a reply