Diesler – Sounds Familiar LP

2 Posted by - 6th October 2016 - Features & Reviews, Listen / Watch

It’s over ten years since Diesler played Funkdub, and on 7th October 2016 his 5th studio album finally arrives! We’re loving it at Funkdub HQ.

With past Diesler releases on Tru Thoughts, Freestyle Records, Unique Records & Record Kicks having enjoyed support including Zane Lowe, Gilles Peterson, Bonobo, Mr. Scruff & Craig Charles and across the BBC Radio 1, BBC Radio 2 & BBC Radio 6 Music networks, the next artist album from Diesler follows on perfectly from 2010’s ‘Tie Breakers‘ and his popular compilation series from 2015 ‘A Little Something Radio‘, in the shape of the 12 track long player ‘Sounds Familiar‘.

On the release Diesler is joined by a cast of collaborators who in their own right have been firm fixtures in the modern soul underground for years. Jazz vocalist Lizzy Parks & French producer Azaxx (Tru Thoughts) join Diesler on ‘Caught Counting‘, UK vocalist Double Yellow (Here & Now) joins Diesler on ‘Human When You Dance‘ & ‘Repeat This Moment‘ & Gloria Adereti (Classic / Defected) lends her formidable vocal talents to ‘Birds & Bees‘.

1. Caught Counting ft. Lizzy Parks & Azaxx (3.50)
2. Human When You Dance ft. Double Yellow (3.26)
3. Gold In Rio (3.41)
4. Repeat This Moment ft. Double Yellow (5.13)
5. Downtown Express (4.19)
6. Birds & Bees ft. Gloria Adereti (6.12)
7. Tokyo Drift (3.59)
8. Entry (4.08)
9. Vice Squad (4.13)
10. Cavador (4.11)
11. Buffet Froid (4.34)
12. Soho To Brighton (4.45)

General Release – 7th October 2016
Juno Exclusive – 23rd September 2016

No comments

Leave a reply