Tru Thoughts // SHAPES: DIAMONDS

0 Posted by - 10th October 2019 - Top Picks by 3DJ

[3DJ] Rating 💎💎💎💎💎 / 5

We’re not the only one having a birthday! One of our all time favourite labels, Tru Thoughts is turning 20 and they have another Shapes compilation out to celebrate – diamond stuff!

‘Shapes: Diamonds’ is the latest in Tru Thoughts’ series of essential label compilations put together by A&R, label co-founder and renowned DJ, Robert Luis. After 20 years of independently releasing music, the ‘Shapes’ LPs continue to encompass the best of the Brighton-based label’s wide-ranging and international roster. Featuring the finest of Tru Thoughts’ classic cuts, recent releases and inspired remixes, ‘Shapes: Diamonds’ is out on digital, limited edition mint green double vinyl, indie exclusive limited edition orange double vinyl and Tru Thoughts exclusive limited edition mint green and orange double vinyl (all with full 31 track download card and poster insert) on 15th November.

Shapes: Diamonds highlights releases from the newer signings on the label alongside the more established artists. I always enjoy putting these compilations together as it allows me to take a step back and check the current catalogue and musical direction of the label. As with all our Shapes compilations, there is a wide mixture of genres all from artists who are passionate about the creative music they make, so the quality is strong.” – Robert Luis

‘Shapes: Diamonds’ opens as Space Captain’s“Loveline” is transformed into an electro-funk outing by fellow Brooklynite Jesse Fischer, all the while continuing to channel the crystal solace of the original. Other remixes & remixers on the compilation include visionary electronic producer Jam City (aka Jack Lathan/Night Slugs), who adds layers of glistening electronics to Rhi’s lo-fi stoner anthem – “Too High”, using crisp snaps, spikey synths and pitched-up vocals to give the track a dancefloor punch. And multi-instrumentalist Sly5thAve is given a futuristic soul spin by Stro Elliot (The Roots) on the unfadable “Let Me Ride ft. Jimetta Rose”, manipulating the vibrant horns and keys of the one-man wonder.

Covering the (neo)soulful spectrum of the label, Ego Ella May explores empowerment post-break up and the collateral beauty of heartbreak on “Table For One”, calling in the help of a plethora of UK Jazz talent such as Wu-Lu, Oscar Jerome, Joe Armon-Jones (Erza Collective), Eddie Hick (Sons of Kemet) to provide the impromptu-jam instrumentation. While Manchester-soul collective Pieces of a Man ooze funk and soul confidence on breakthrough hit “Listen”, thematically tackling frontman To!u’s personal struggle of coming out to his mum. Demonstrating the eclecticism which is core to the labels ethos, infamous Roll Deep MC Flowdan tackles the daunting nature of the city “Welcome To London”, produced by Plastician who brings his eerily minimal production to the forefront of the track; whereas French duo Nikitch & Kuna Maze continue to blur the lines between broken beat-revivalism and the melting point of jazz and club culture on “ZBRA”.

Magic Drum Orchestra aka Glyn “Bigga” Bush appears three times on the record, first transforming the Animanz’s atonal Latin-jazz variation of Thundercat’s “Them Changes”, incorporating snares and extra surdo to give the track a samba feel. Second as his Lightning Head moniker, stripping everything but the percussion from “Message To The Tribes”, creating an afro-house batucada-inspired DJ tool as “Message Beats”. And lastly being remixed by Hong Kongese trio Blood Wine or Honey, who hone their afro-minimal electro-psychedelia on their remix of Magic Drum Orchestra’s “Parade Skank”. Elsewhere on the record Wolverhampton electronic duo Letherette give Anchorsong’s“Testimony” a rhythmic house-inflected cut, reinforcing Masaaki Yoshida’s flare for intricate percussiveness; and Manchester-based musician Werkha, alternates frenetic and lulling static-laden instrumental cuts, on his debut album opener “Flinch / Quiver”.

Over the years, Tru Thoughts’ diverse roster has included names such as Quantic, Alice Russell, Nostalgia 77, The Bamboos, Rodney P, Hidden Orchestra, Riz MC, Zed Bias, Anchorsong, Moonchild and the Grammy-nominated Hot 8 Brass Band; with acts hailing from Australia, UK, USA, Canada, Brazil, Japan and Colombia. Tru Thoughts continues to run from Brighton, together with its publishing company Full Thought Publishing, which has seen its music used in major advertising campaigns, movies and TV shows.

Vinyl Tracklist

A1 Space Captain – Loveline (Jesse Fischer Remix)
A2 Rhi – Too High (Jam City Remix)
A3 Ego Ella May – Table For One 

B1 Pieces of a Man – Listen 
B2 Sly5thAve – Let Me Ride (Stro Elliot Remix)
B3 Nikitch & Kuna Maze – ZBRA

C1 Flowdan – Welcome To London
C2 Animanz – Them Changes (Magic Drum Orchestra Remix)
C3 Anchorsong – Testimony (Letherette Remix)

D1 Lightning Head – Message Beats
D2 Werkha – Flinch / Quiver 
D3 Magic Drum Orchestra – Parade Skank (Blood Wine Or Honey Remix)

Digital Album Tracklist

  1. Te’Amir – Salam
  2. Moonchild – Run Away
  3. Space Captain – Loveline (Jesse Fischer Remix)
  4. The Seshen – This Bitter Earth
  5. Uniting of Opposites – Ancient Lights (Tim Liken Remix) (Instrumental)
  6. Quantic – You Used To Love Me ft. Denitia (Radio Edit)
  7. Rhi – Too High (Jam City Remix)
  8. Strategy – The World Is Mine ft. Everley
  9. Bryony Jarman-Pinto – As I’ve Heard 
  10. Pieces of a Man – Listen
  11. Ego Ella May – Table For One
  12. Flowdan – Welcome To London (Radio Edit)
  13. Gawd Status – Uranium
  14. Sly5thAve – Let Me Ride ft. Jimetta Rose (Stro Elliot Remix)
  15. Wrongtom Meets The Ragga Twins – Woah! (Shop Soiled Dub)
  16. Nikitch & Kuna Maze – ZBRA
  17. Animanz – Them Changes (Magic Drum Orchestra Remix)
  18. Hidden Orchestra – Western Isles (Throwing Snow Remix)
  19. Anchorsong – Testimony (Letherette Remix)
  20. Zero dB – Party Girl
  21. Werkha – Flinch / Quiver
  22. Flowdan – Shell A Verse
  23. Lightning Head – Message Beats
  24. Pete Cannon Meets Ghost Writerz – How We Living (Instrumental)
  25. Rhi – Too High (Chug Remix)
  26. Hot 8 Brass Band – On The Spot (Animanz Remix)
  27. Terror Danjah – Module
  28. KINGDEM – KingStep
  29. IRAH x Abstrakt Sonance – Busy With The Gang ft. Nate and Greazus
  30. Nonames – Dads and Mums ft. Roachee and Killa P (Chimpo Duppy)
  31. Magic Drum Orchestra – Parade Skank (Blood Wine Or Honey Remix)

Check out their birthday bash too…

No comments