Prince Fatty – In the Viper’s Shadow

0 Posted by - 30th September 2019 - Top Picks by 3DJ

[3DJ] Rating 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 / 5

Featuring some absolute classics this is sure to be a mainstay in my box for years to some – especially loving the Big Youth collaborations who Funkdub will be supporting at next year’s London International Ska festival. You can get a taster and pre-order over at Bandcamp – i’ve heard the full album and its pure fire.

Since day one of his career, Prince Fatty has worked with some of the biggest names in the business including; Lily Allen, Hollie Cook, Graham Coxon (Blur), Mungo’s HiFi, The Skints, Gregory Isaacs and many more. It’s no secret that his production skills and ability to set up incredible collaborations has quickly spread on a global scale. Although he’s from Brighton originally, he’s lived in Thailand and Los Angeles over the years, and along the way has developed a versatile, diverse and unmistakeable sound, and this brand new album is the perfect example of it.

‘In The Viper’s Shadow’ showcases some incredible talent, the collaborators include; Cornell CampbellTippa IrieBig YouthGeorge DekkerShniece McMenaminEarl 16Winston FrancisMarcia GriffithHorseman and many more. This is 10 tracks of smooth-as-you-like, rock steady, dub-infused reggae that’s been produced to perfection by Prince Fatty, who’s not taken his foot off the gas in 2019. He produced an exclusive track for Record Store Day, gave The Last Poets’ ‘Understand What Black Is’ a dub overhaul and recently released the first single from this project, a cover of Smokey Robinson’s ‘Get Ready.’

After dropping The Clone Theory in 2015 production connoisseur Prince Fatty has been paving the way for something very special ever since. 2019 will see him release his second solo album ‘In The Viper’s Shadow’ landing on the 4th October via Evergreen Recordings.

Featuring a whole host of reggae and dub royalty, this project boasts a who’s who of global talent including the likes of Cornell Campbell, Tippa Irie, Big Youth, George Dekker, Shniece McMenamin, Earl 16, Winston Francis, Marcia Griffith and Horseman.

Renowned for flexing his studio muscle with some of the freshest and versatile dub sounds around, Prince Fatty’s smooth grooves have turned industry heads for decades and ‘In The Viper’s Shadow’ is no exception.

This album is 10 tracks of reggae goodness, produced to perfection in a melting pot of influences that span from multiple eras and stretch to just about every corner of the planet.

On creating the record, Prince Fatty added:

I live in a Rub A Dub world, both a dub plate fantasy and a reality. Having your own un-released productions to play is essential and it became an arms race. The more we played out the more we recorded. The selections drawn for the Viper album are just some of the popular songs me and Horseman dub live. I am very fortunate to have these great singers and musicians involved, all of which have stayed true to their art and message regardless of fashion. They inspire me to do the same. I will always do the opposite to the in-crowd. Machines versus musicians, software versus human feel, digital versus analog

Tracklist >

  1. Two Timer ft Cornel Campbell and Tippa Irie
  2. Get Ready ft Big Youth and George Dekker
  3. Deep Sleep ft Shniece McMenamin
  4. Cassandra ft Earl 16
  5. Everything Crash ft Big Youth and George Dekker 03:09
  6. The Break ft Winston Francis
  7. Steppin’ Out of Babylon ft Big Youth and Marcia Griffith
  8. Queen of the Minstrel ft Cornel Campbell
  9. Tonight ft Big Youth and Earl 16
  10. Trouble ft Shniece McMenamin and Horseman

Released October 4, 2019

Recorded at the Ironworks, Brighton
All tracks produced by Prince Fatty
Mixed by Prince Fatty at “Jah Dub Stido”, Siracha, Thailand
Beau Thomas at Ten Eight Seven
Artwork by JAKe


EDIT, now available for you to list HERE >

No comments