GK’s Dub Got Funk Session

0 Posted by - 28th February 2018 - Listen / Watch, Our Mixes, Top Picks by G-Kush

New mix incoming, a session ahead of the forthcoming show with Smiley & The Underclass. My last mix was all about the back end of the set after the band have finished, this one is about the start. These are the sorts of tracks that get dropped earlier in the evening, with tunes that join the dots between the different styles we like. It features classic cuts and  modern dub & reggae masters remixing great contemporary vocalists, like Ticklah reworking Alice Russell and the Dynamics reworking Nicole Willis. There are recent favourites from AMJ Collective and Mr Jukes, and a good smattering of stalwart tracks. Have a listen, it starts out with 9 minutes of golden Isaac Hayes, look out for the bit that Public Enemy sampled. Hope you enjoy the tunes!


  1. Isaac Hayes – Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic
  2. Nicole Willis & The Soul Investigators – My 4 Leaf Clover (Dynamics Remix)
  3. Winston McAnuff – Rock Soul
  4. The Chosen Few – Reggae Stuff
  5. Mr Jukes – Leap Of Faith (featuring De La Soul and Horace Andy)
  6. Natural Self – The Rising (feat Andreya Triana – The Broken Keys remix)
  7. Blend Crafters – Lola
  8. AMJ Collective – Believe (Dub)
  9. Groove Armada – Superstylin’ (Dub)
  10. Nightmares On Wax – Now Is The Time (Ashley Beedle warbox dubplate special)
  11. Alice Russell – Got The Hunger? (Ticklah remix)
  12. Beastie Boys – Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win (featuring Santigold)
  13. Niko – You’re My Favourite Music

You can also check our mixes here, and GK is also on Mixcloud

No comments

Leave a reply