Nightmares On Wax, Shape The Future – Again

1 Posted by - 2nd November 2017 - Features & Reviews, Top Picks by 3DJ, Tracks/Video we love

Ever since 1991’s A Word of Science i’ve been having Nightmares On Wax, and i’m thrilled to hear DJ E.A.S.E is back to shape my future, again. Along the way i’ve collected everything I can put out by N.O.W and it’s never disappointed, ever (well, ok, once with a pair of warped Finer/Les Nuits singles) and seen them / him a number of times – meeting George (E.A.S.E) in Manchester in 20??

Anyhow, time for some fresh N.O.W music! The new album is called ‘Shape The Future’ and it drops on 26th Jan. You can watch the video for ‘Citizen Kane’ ft. Mozez and Allan Kingdom here…

One of the most influential artists of a generation and a long-standing member of the Warp Records family, Nightmares On Wax announces his new album Shape The Future.

A perfect marriage of soul, hip-hop, dub and timeless club sounds that act as a salvo masterpiece of contemporary and classic genre-blending, brilliantly solidifying Nightmares On Wax’s place as an inspirational electronic music figurehead.

The main man had this to say on his Facebook page:

Making this album I’ve journeyed both inwardly and outwardly all over the world and both physically and emotionally.

I feel like I had to mature making this record, as it posed a lot of challenges along the way – more than I anticipated. You’re a different person each day so I could never make the same album again- expressions change.

I’ve brought in a lot of outside people including musicians and a lot of orchestration. It’s brought a lot of enrichment.

Each album to me is discovery and a reflection, a mirror where I’m at in life over a period of time through writing an album and touring. It’s inspiring my reality or affecting my outlook on things and in turn, is expressed through the music and expressing a message through different sides of emotion and our relationship to our reality

‘Shape The Future’, is out 26th January on Warp Records.
Pre-order Vinyl, CD, Digital:
Pre-save on Spotify:

I’ve even hunted out the tracklist –

  1. Back To Nature (feat. Kuauhtli Vasquez & Wixarika Tribe) 7:35
  2. Tell My Vision (feat. Andrew Ashong) 4:14
  3. Shape The Future 6:19
  4. On It Maestro 4:15
  5. Tomorrow (feat. LSK) 4:30
  6. Typical (feat. Jordan Rakei) 4:40
  7. Tenor Fly 2:41
  8. Citizen Kane (feat. Mozez) 4:00
  9. Deep Shadows (feat. Sadie Walker) 3:57
  10. Gotta Smile 6:44
  11. The Othership 4:07
  12. Citizen Kane (Rap Version) (feat. Mozez & Allan Kingdom) (Bonus Track) 4:09

Hit up Discogs for the back catalogue…

Get on THIS too >

I must beat my Funkdub compadre, Gentleman Kush and put together my own 5 Of The Best.

So, final question George – how about a review copy?

1 Comment

  • Sam Funkdub Hutchinson 10th November 2017 - 4:34 pm Reply

    Nightmares on Wax w/ full live band

    Invisible Wind Factory, Liverpool
    Friday 9th February 2018
    7.00pm – 11.00pm
    Nightmares on Wax announced new album and the return of his incredible live show with FULL LIVE BAND.

    Iconic Warp mainstay Nightmares on Wax can now announce his long-anticipated return with new album Shape The Future. The marriage of soul, hip-hop, dub and timeless club sounds that N.O.W. has been mutating and perfecting for years finds perhaps its most fluid form yet on Shape The Future. Energized by globetrotting runs of studio sessions and DJ sets, this latest salvo is a masterpiece of contemporary and classic genre-blending that solidifies Nightmares On Wax’s place as an inspirational electronic music figurehead. This includes the shamanistic vocals of recent single Back To Nature and in particular the the arresting voices of Mozez alongside Kanye West and Flume collaborator Allan Kingdom, as featured on brand new cut Citizen Kane.

    Nightmares on Wax is one of the most influential artists of a generation, his music has inspired many musicians and producers across the globe over his quarter decade career. As Warp’s longest-serving active artist, he has broadened the sound of the label and paved the way for artists such as Flying Lotus, Hudson Mohawke and Mount Kimbie.

  • Leave a reply